Dropping Ca$h Money I Don’t Have

I didn’t even realize that I had barely shopped this year during school until I got home for summer. All my friends were wearing cute summer trends and all my closet had were basic t-shirts and leggings. So, I decided it was time to refresh my wardrobe and it basically lead to me falling into a blackhole of can’t stop won’t stop shopping. In addition to buying things for summer in general, I also picked up a few things to head off to Europe with since clothes are cheaper here after the conversion (s/o to Trump renegotiating NAFTA and driving the Canadian dollar down — get you a girl who can shop and keep up with current events). I’m pretty excited with the pieces I bought and am pretty proud that I didn’t just get black, white, and grey and actually ventured out by adding some colour. I also recently discovered a thrift/second-hand store that will buy your clothes for cash up-front and sells trendy, branded pieces at a fraction of the retail price called Plato’s Closet. I think the concept is great as I have been able to sell off a lot of pieces that I no longer wear and it contributes to a greener Earth. It’s a great place to shop on a budget with a wide selection in terms of styles, sizes, and brands.


 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.51.32 PM.png

Wilfred Pozzi Blouse     

Sleeve slits are a huge trend for the summer and this blouse plays it up the trend by featuring dainty bowties that keep the sleeves secured while showing off some skin

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.48.58 PM

Wilfred Talence Blouse    

Pleats are also currently trending and this floral printed off-the-shoulder top features it in the bodice and sleeves

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.50.55 PMWilfred Jallade Pant    

 I’ve been searching for a light-colored trouser/pant and this pair is perfect with its cropped length and belt to accentuate and cinch in the waistline

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 9.02.10 PM.png

Babaton Mauricio Dress     

This simple tunic dress has become one of my go-to outfits with its strappy detailing and lightweight fabric since its so effortless and easy

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 9.39.18 PM.png

Zara Button Down

A button down is a great layering piece to add more dimension to an outfit and the stripes on this one help to polish and elevate any look

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.52.11 PM.pngCitizens of Humanity Rocket Crop Aura          

I’ve been eyeing these jeans for a while now but didn’t want to shell out the $258 retail so when I found them for $30 at Plato’s lots of fist-pumping was involved

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.56.02 PM.png

Steve Madden Ecentrcq

I thought these would be a perfect shoe to walk around Europe in as they were a slip-on lightweight sneaker-esque shoe and I was able to score these for $12 (retail $90)

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.53.28 PM.png

Urban Planet Slides

For some unknown reason, I get especially lazy with putting on shoes in the summer requiring that they take minimal effort but are also preferably more chic-looking than my birks and these slides definitely check off all the criteria

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 10.44.25 PM.png

Thrifted Mini Leather Backpack

Lastly, I wanted a small backpack for Europe to travel with as it can carry more things such as my camera and all my documents this vintage one is great since it’s already been worn in goes with everything


 

Leave a Reply

