Travel Diary: Kona, Hawaii

I have been in love with Hawaii ever since I was a kid. My parents lived there briefly soon after being married and the stories they told just made you envision rainbows and happiness and everything associated with the fairytale ending of a Disney movie. I was obsessed with the movie Soul Surfer not due to Bethany Hamilton’s amazing story but just because it was set in Hawaii (side note while in the Honolulu airport I ran into Bethany Hamilton and it was surreal). My first time to Hawaii was to Honolulu and it was amazing. We got to visit all my parents favourite landmarks including Waikiki Beach and the Diamond Head Trail. This time, I headed to Kona on the Big Island, and it was a completely different experience that topped my first trip by a landslide. Big Island is not urban at all in comparison to Honolulu and has black volcanic lava everywhere and in contrast to the blue waters, it’s absolutely breath-taking. The island has four climate zones making it one of the most diverse environments on Earth. I would definitely recommend staying at the Four Seasons Hualalai as it is right by the shore offering both beaches and infinity pools facing the shore and down the mountains. The resort also offers paddleboarding and snorkelling early in the morning contingent on the weather. In terms of snorkelling, there are numerous tours available to Kealakekua Bay where there are miles of reefs and fishes. I took a tour with Captain Zodiac in which we rafted out to the crystal clear water to snorkel and explore the sea caves and lava tubes. On our way back to the dock, we were able to see dolphins as well. The excursion was amazing and the guides offered lots of historical information about the island that really enriched the experience. To this day, Hawaii is one of the most magical places for me and I would love to be able to follow in my parents footsteps and call it home someday.


 

IMG_8409

 

fullsizeoutput_31cb

 

IMG_8525

 

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset


 

One thought on “Travel Diary: Kona, Hawaii

Leave a Reply

